Press Release

Draw conducted for 2023 Concacaf Gold Cup

image-1920x1080 TQL Stadium

Concacaf today conducted the official draw for the 2023 Concacaf Gold Cup. The 17th edition of Concacaf’s flagship competition for men's national teams will be played between June 16 – July 16 and will crown the best national team in the region.

Concacaf will announce a complete match schedule, including specific match venue assignments, ticketing information, and other details in the days to come.

TQL Stadium, as announced Monday, was named one of 15 stadiums which will play host to Gold Cup matches this summer. Cincinnati will host the event for the first time. 

Concacaf President and FIFA Vice President, Victor Montagliani, the head coaches of the national teams participating in the 2023 Gold Cup and important guests were at SoFi Stadium in Los Angeles, site of this summer’s Gold Cup Final, to conduct the draw Friday.

United States, the defending champions, were placed in Group A and drew Jamaica, Nicaragua and the winner of Preliminary Match 9, which could be one of four countries (Curaçao, St. Kitts & Nevis, French Guiana, Sint Maarten) in the Group Stage.

Following the Preliminary Round from June 16 – 20, the Group Stage will take place from June 24 – July 4. The full groups are listed below.

Group A
Group B
Group C
Group D
United States
Costa Rica
El Salvador
Winner Prelims 9
Winner Prelims 8
Winner Prelims 7

Following the Group Stage, the Knockout Stage will begin with the Quarterfinals July 8 – 9. The Semifinals will take place on July 12 with the 2023 Gold Cup Final set for July 16.

TQL Stadium has previously hosted three matches at the international level, including the U.S. Men’s National Team’s vital home FIFA World Cup Qualifier against Mexico in November 2021, a 2-0 win for the USMNT. Most recently at the international level, Cincinnati hosted the USMNT in an International Friendly against Morocco last June, when the Stars and Stripes defeated the eventual 2022 World Cup-semifinalists, 3-0.

International Matches at TQL Stadium
September 21, 2021 – U.S. Women’s National Team 8, Paraguay 0 – International Friendly 
November 12, 2021 – U.S. Men’s National Team 2, Mexico 0 – 2022 FIFA World Cup Qualifier 
June 1, 2022 – U.S. Men’s National Team 3, Morocco 0 – International Friendly

About TQL Stadium
TQL Stadium, home of FC Cincinnati, is one of the most ambitious soccer-specific stadiums in not only North America, but the world. Critically-acclaimed firm Populous designed an innovative and forward-thinking stadium that is one of the largest soccer-specific facilities in Major League Soccer. TQL Stadium has been named Best Venue at the 2022 World Football Summit in Madrid and the 2022 Prix Versailles World Title in the Sports Category in Paris, France.

The stadium has five team locker rooms, including a comprehensive team suite for FC Cincinnati that features a dressing room, coach’s office, lounge, equipment storage and the Mercy Health Center of Excellence for the team’s medical and game day fitness needs. Within the 18 months of the stadium’s completion, TQL Stadium has featured both the U.S. Men’s and Women’s National Teams, including the USMNT’s FIFA World Cup Qualification match vs. Mexico, and a concert by legendary rock band, The Who.

The closest seats are within 15 feet of the pitch at the $250 million, privately funded stadium. The design includes 53 traditional suites and 4,500 premium seats throughout four premium club spaces. FC Cincinnati’s supporters’ section, The Bailey, has grown to be more than 3,100 strong and loom over opponents at a 34-degree angle at the stadium’s north end. A 360-degree canopy roof covers every seat in TQL Stadium, but still allows sufficient sun in to grow a natural grass field. 

About Gold Cup
The Concacaf Gold Cup is the Confederation’s premier competition for men’s national teams, crowning a champion every two years. Initially involving eight teams, the Gold Cup expanded into a competition that includes a 12-team Preliminary Round and 16-team Group Stage, all which qualify via the Concacaf Nations League. The tournament has been contested on 16 previous occasions. Mexico owns a tournament-record eight titles, followed by the United States with seven and Canada with one. For more information about the Concacaf Gold Cup, click here. 

About Concacaf
The Confederation of North, Central America, and Caribbean Association Football (Concacaf) is one of FIFA’s six continental confederations, servicing 41 Member Associations, from Canada in the north to Guyana, Suriname, and French Guiana in the south. Concacaf means football first. Our members are united by a shared vision: Love For Our Game, as well as a unique mission, to develop, promote and manage football throughout the region with integrity, transparency, and passion in order to inspire participation in the game.