Lineup Notes: Minnesota United FC


There are three changes to the FC Cincinnati starting XI ahead of Saturday night’s matchup against Minnesota United FC at Nippert Stadium.

Zico Bailey, Siem de Jong and Spencer Richey replace Saad Abdul-Salaam, Bobby Edwards and Brandon Vazquez in the starting lineup.

About the starters

Bailey will make his first start in MLS – in only his third appearance for the Orange and Blue in 2020. De Jong returns to the starting lineup for the first time since Sept. 12 at New York City FC, while Richey’s last start was Sept. 26 at NYCFC.

About the bench

Jürgen Locadia and Kendall Waston are both in the matchday squad and could make their first appearances since Oct. 7 at the Philadelphia Union.

Tommy McCabe and Hassan Ndam are looking for their MLS appearances in 2020. Ndam has never made a competitive appearance for FCC, but made his league debut in 2018 with the New York Red Bulls.

Jimmy McLaughlin also awaits his 2020 debut – and first appearance since Oct. 27, 2018, in the USL Cup Playoffs against New York Red Bulls II. His last MLS appearance was in 2015.

About the absentees

Allan Cruz, Mathieu Deplagne, Greg Garza, Yuya Kubo, Przemysław Tytoń, Maikel van der Werff, Abdul-Salaam and Vazquez will miss the match with injuries.

New signing Franko Kovačević will be added to the roster upon the receipt of his P1 Visa and completion of any mandatory quarantine period under local government and MLS health and safety protocol.