Lineup Notes: Columbus Crew SC

CINvCLB Lineup

Thanks to loans ending, injuries and squad rotation, FC Cincinnati made five changes to their starting lineup ahead of Wednesday night’s #HellisReal Derby at Nippert Stadium.

About the starters

Allan Cruz, Bobby Edwards, Andrew Gutman, Kamohelo Mokotjo and Tom Pettersson replace Frankie Amaya, Mathieu Deplagne, Joseph-Claude Gyau, Przemysław Tytoń and Maikel van der Werff in the starting XI.

Edwards will make his MLS debut and becomes only the third goalkeeper to make an appearance for FCC since the club joined MLS.

Mokotjo makes his first MLS start after his three previous appearances came as a substitute.

Pettersson returns to the starting lineup for the first time since Sept. 26 at New York City FC after being diagnosed with mononucleosis.

Cruz makes his first start since Oct. 7, when he played against the Philadelphia Union. 

About the bench

Beckham Sunderland is the first former FC Cincinnati Academy player in club history to be named into the first team squad, after signing as a Homegrown Player earlier today. He will be Edwards’ backup and could make his MLS debut as a 17-year-old. He is officially the youngest player to ever be named in an FCC matchday squad.

Three players who were on loan in the USL Championship – Rashawn Dally, Tommy McCabe and Hassan Ndam – have returned to their parent club and could play against Columbus Crew SC.

McCabe, who was an unused sub during the MLS is Back Tournament, could make his first MLS appearance since Oct. 6, 2019 – when nine-man FCC drew D.C. United to close the 2019 regular season.

Dally is in the matchday squad for the first time in 2020 and could make his first appearance for the club since Sept. 21, 2019 against the Chicago Fire.

Ndam is in an FCC matchday squad for the first time in a competitive match. His previous appearances came during the 2019 preseason. If he plays, it’ll be his first MLS appearance since June 9, 2018 for the New York Red Bulls. That match was against Columbus.

About the absentees

Mathieu Deplagne, Greg Garza, Jürgen Locadia, Spencer Richey, Przemysław Tytoń and Michael van der Werff are excluded from the matchday roster because of injuries.