FC Cincinnati 2

Tyrone Marshall to participate in Elite Formation Coaching License program


NEW YORK – Major League Soccer today announced that 25 coaches will be participating in the Elite Formation Coaching License (EFCL) program in partnership with the French Football Federation (FFF).

FC Cincinnati 2 head coach Tyrone Marshall will be part of the fifth class of coaches to take part in the EFCL. Marshall enters his second season as the head coach of FC Cincinnati 2 in MLS NEXT Pro.

One of the most highly regarded and rigorous soccer coaching courses in the world, the EFCL will run a total of seven weeks over an 18-month period (February 2023 – July 2024), which begins on February 1 at the famed INF Clairefontaine outside of Paris. After completing a week of sessions, coaches will participate in club observations from February 8-15, where they will be immersed within many top European teams for one week to observe the academy and player development system. Participating clubs include Arsenal (England), Le Havre AC (France), RC Lens (France), AS Monaco (France), FC Nantes (France), Stade Rennais (France), RC Strasbourg (France), Toulouse FC (France), and TSG 1899 Hoffenheim (Germany).

Prior to his appointment as head coach of FC Cincinnati 2, Marshall served as the interim head coach of FC Cincinnati and the U-19 head coach for the FC Cincinnati Academy. As a player, Marshall made over 300 MLS appearances with five different clubs between 1998 and 2012. He has two MLS Cup’s to his name and hoisted the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup trophy three times.

For more information on the EFCL visit mlsnextpro.com. The full list of coaches participating in the program are listed below.

2023-24 Elite Formation Coaching License Candidates

Will Bates, Atlanta United
Patrick Daka, Charlotte FC
Selim Talbi, Chicago Fire FC
Tyrone Marshall, FC Cincinnati
Elliot Prost, Colorado Rapids
Eric Dutt, Columbus Crew
Matt Arlington, D.C. United
Adam Wells, FC Dallas
Jeremy Hurdle, Houston Dynamo FC
Luis Pacheco, Sporting Kansas City
Sam Al-Basith, LA Galaxy
Benoit David, LA Galaxy
Pedro Cavalcanti, Inter Miami CF
Peter McDonnell, Minnesota United FC
Jason Boxx, Nashville SC
Rob Becerra, New England Revolution
Liam Connors, New England Revolution
Michael Dal Pra, New York City FC
Jonathan Rhodes, New York Red Bulls
Shannon Murray, Portland Timbers
Andrew May, Real Salt Lake
Erin Ridley, San Jose Earthquakes
Steven Sosa, San Jose Earthquakes
Brayton Knapp, Seattle Sounders FC
Dan Fairhurst, Vancouver Whitecaps FC